When a Translation Memory is attached to a project, there are several options available to control how Déjà Vu uses the Translation Memory. To see the available options:
- Open the project you want to configure the Translation Memory options for, if it is not open already.
- Open the Project Properties dialog.
- In the Project Properties dialog, select the Translation Memories tab.
- There you will see the Translation Memories that are attached to the current project (if any), and you will see the available options for them.
The available options are the following:
- Read: If this is enabled, Déjà Vu will search for matches in the Translation Memory. It will look in the Translation Memory for matches whenever the Translate function is used, and when a Pretranslation is run. If it is disabled, Déjà Vu will not read from the Translation Memory, so it will never look for matches in it.
- Write: If this is enabled, Déjà Vu will be able to add new translations to the Translation Memory. If it is disabled, Déjà Vu will never add new translations to the Translation Memory, even if you instruct it to, for example, by pressing the F12 key.
- Reverse: If this option is enabled, Déjà Vu will treat the Translation Memory as reversible. This means that Déjà Vu will find matches in the Translation Memory for the current source language, even if the matches it finds were translations, rather than original sentences, when they were sent to the Translation Memory in the first place. If it is disabled, Déjà Vu will only find matches in the Translation Memory for the current source language in sentences that were source text when they were sent to the Translation Memory.
- % Penalty: Translation Memory penalties are used to control how Déjà Vu decides what match to insert into a segment, or to present to the user, when it finds several matches in the Translation Memories attached to the project. You can read more about them here.